How I Discovered Yoga

Standard

I’ve always made physical activity a priority in my life, and when I moved to Seattle two years ago, I was looking for a new heart-pounding fix. I found yoga during my first week here when a family friend insisted I tag along. It was physically challenging, and I began to crave the body-sculpting sweat sessions on a regular basis. I told myself I needed the workout to stay in shape and distract me from everyday stressors, but there was more than just a physical transformation taking place. I was becoming more thoughtful about my actions and reactions both within and to the world around me. I was united with my classmates in cultivating a deeper mental and emotional acuteness with every vinyasa. Never one to attend church, I embraced this dancing communal prayer for universal ideals of happiness and unity.

It is through this transformation that I came to believe there is an omnipresent spirituality in yoga that will find a person whether or not he or she is looking for it. Through personal reflections, observations and interviews within the Seattle community, I aim to manifest the intangible spiritual nature of yoga. I now practice regularly at Haute Yoga Queen Anne.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on great studios in the area, and about yoga in general. Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

