Yoga You Can Take With You: Pocket Yoga Practice Builder

Standard

Earlier this week, I spent some time discussing the cost of yoga — from the expensive monthly membership to the gear and latest fashion trends — yoga is far from a cheap physical activity. I want to emphasize that yoga is a practice about self study. So, why not practice yoga by yourself?

Pocket Yoga Practice Builder  is an app for iPhone and iPad that allows you to build, edit and share complete yoga practices while on the go. There’s no need to worry for beginner yogis, since the app narrates the sequence with a set of pictures to guide you through. The app costs $4.99, which I feel is actually quite expensive  for the App Store, but when you compare it with the cost of yoga, it’s actually a steal. I got my app for free from Starbucks while it was App of the Week.

So, how does it work? Admittedly, I’ve only used it a handful of times and think this app is best suited for new instructors who want to play around with different yoga sequences. To get started, you first click “new practice,” then you simply scroll through pages of poses and add them to your timeline. You can even add in music!

I have no idea what I’m doing when putting together a workout, so my “practices” all feel a bit disjointed. I will say, though, that as long as you’re adding in your regular planks, warriors, etc., you’re going to get an excellent workout.

The verdict: I don’t think this app can replace regular attendance at a studio, but it can be a great “fix” for your yoga addiction if you’re in a pinch, such as traveling for business, visiting family, etc. The app is suitable for beginners, but make sure you have a strong foundation of poses to prevent at-home injuries.

Have any of you tried Pocket Yoga Practice Builder? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

